hard work.

Yesterday I received a reminder card from my cardiologist that it’s time for my annual echocardiogram. It’s been a year since I learned about my PVCs and an annual trip to my cardiologist is a thing now.

And what a year it’s been. Work is good, crazy. Still spending two hours a day commuting (adding an extra 24 hours on top of the 108 I clocked in the past 12 days). For the past four months I’ve lead a team of associates across our organization, tasked with creating an interactive hallway experience at the Cerner Health Conference, our massive yearly conference with ~10,000 associates and clients attending from across the globe. It was hard. Stressful. Exhausting. But it turned out fantastic. I heard responses from clients that “getting to create their own button” was the highlight of the conference and that “it made their whole trip.” Even though I didn’t get to officially represent uCern this year, I’m grateful I still had an open forum to connect and meet with our clients.

And all of that was on top of my day job.

And on top of that, I’m a yoga instructor now. I’m able to teach yoga three hours a week at work (I mean c’mon, what other job lets you do that?) and I am completing my YogaFit Level I certification by offering free intro classes one hour a week for the next 6 weeks.

Yoga is a whole other thing entirely. I’ve been in some deep, dark places this year and thanks to a workshop about practicing yoga to combat anxiety and depression, I’ve found my way out. It isn’t perfect – nothing is – and it is a daily practice. It’s helped quiet my mind while working to change my negative self talk into positivity. It also knocks my heart into a steadier rhythm (except during savasana. The motherfucker never chills out during savasana).

Oh yeah, Bill and I have been married 10 years this year and we’re taking a trip together for the first time! I’m attending JiveWorld (a conference for the social platform behind uCern) later this month in Las Vegas and he’s coming with me. It’s perfect, I get to do awesome nerd stuff while he wanders Vegas and does awesome nerd stuff on his own. But we’re staying in the Cosmopolitan on my company’s dime and have enough free time to wander the strip and eat at Bobby Flay’s restaurant, Mesa Grill. So. Excited.

Side note: I’m still maintaining my vegan/vegetarian diet. I’m about 98% plant strong, occasionally indulging in homemade treats and minorly cheesy things. Bill calls me a Sarahtarian, which I quite like, because I make my own rules. My body simply feels good and functions properly when I stick to fruit and veg. But mama has a sweet tooth. And after looking at Bobby’s menu I will be ordering the lobster tacos and tiger shrimp tamales.

Two weeks ago Madeleine turned five years old. Five. Not sure how that happened. She is an amazing little ray of sunshine that rides on the backs of unicorns and sprinkles happy dust on her loyal subjects everywhere she goes. You may think I’m biased but it’s factual truth. Every boy and girl and parent and teacher at Maddie’s preschool is infatuated with her. They gush to Bill and I about her sweetness and everyone, I mean everyone, says good morning and goodbye as she passes.

She’s my girl.

I’m sure there was a whole lot more that happened but those are some big points. Sorry if you’ve felt neglected, my social network, but I’ve been busy working on me.

Side side note (spoiler-free): I’ve listened to the first three books of Game of Thrones on audiobook and man, number one: it’s interesting to hear story lines that were changed for the show and number two: weddings, man.

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

