gratitude.

It’s day 21 of my happiness experiment and guess what? I feel happier.

The principles of Shawn Achor’s plan were easy to incorporate into my day and were actually pretty enjoyable. Exercise was already a part of my daily routine – I practice 30 minutes of yoga each morning and walk at least 30 minutes each day – so that was a no brainer. While I do meditate for a few minutes during yoga, I added five minutes of pure meditation each night before bed. Evernote made it easy to journal my gratitudes from my phone, iPad or computer whenever necessary, and I stuck to emails and Facebook messages for my conscious acts of kindness.

In addition to Shawn’s principles, I focused on these ten things to stop caring about and supplemented with a week-long happiness challenge. My husband and I also addressed a major source of stress in my life – our finances – by visiting a financial counselor who helped us create a budget and debt reduction plan. Naturally, I also stuck to my clean, plant-strong diet.

And I feel good. Really good. Things were dark there for a bit but it’s clearing up now. I feel lighter, more relaxed. Even though it’s the last day of the experiment I’m going to continue practicing these principles; the awesome article I read this morning will help as well. On dark days it will be nice to look back at my journal and remember all the things that are wonderful in my life. Speaking of, can you pick out a few common themes?

Gratitudes

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

