i love veggies

I’ve been a vegetarian with vegan tendencies for a while now. It’s actually easier than I ever anticipated. I always know I’m eating plenty of fruits and vegetables, many restaurants offer veg options and aside from the occasional ribbing from friends and family, most people are supportive.

Don’t get me wrong, I like meat. It’s delicious. Especially bacon. Mmmm, bacon. My reasons for going vegetarian are primarily health-related. Watching the movie Forks Over Knives and learning more about The China Study helped me realize eating a whole-food, plant-based diet could prevent and potentially reverse damage from two diseases I’m genetically predisposed to: osteoporosis and heart disease. Huge.

And then I watched Earthlings.

I’m not an animal rights activist. Far from it. I like animals just fine. But this movie put all living creatures into perspective for me. Why should a cow suffer for me to eat a hamburger? Especially if that hamburger is just slowly killing me and the environment anyway? Not worth it.

So yesterday I decided to become fully vegan.

Won’t be too much of a change anyway, I haven’t had cow’s milk or eggs since I went vegetarian and limited butter or cheese. I did have sushi on Christmas Day because, sushi. I know I can’t be perfect. No one can. If someone hands me a homemade chocolate chip cookie and I want a cookie, I’m gonna eat the damn cookie. As that doesn’t happen often it will be okay.

You may have questions. Here’s a quick FAQ:

Protein comes from plants too. Like beans, nuts, seeds and leafy greens. And none of that nasty saturated fat comes with it. Most people on a traditional western diet consume more protein than they actually need.

Calcium is found in leafy green and cruciferous veg, the almond milk I drink everyday and in the supplement I take every morning. And those sources don’t raise my acidity levels.

Yes, I eat salads. No, that’s not all I eat. I’m a pretty good cook and have learned I can veganize almost any recipe without losing deliciousness. Check out my Pinterest food board for inspiration.

Yes, sometimes I miss meat. On New Years I had a bite of summer sausage just because it looked so good on the plate. But you know what? It didn’t taste as good as I remember. Sometimes we think food tastes better because of the situations we associate them with. Summer sausage reminds me of all the fun New Years parties my parents threw as a kid. It was more about the memory than the meat itself.

Will I ever eat meat again? I don’t know. Never say never. I do have one simple request though. I won’t ridicule you for eating meat so please don’t ridicule me for not eating it.

That being said, check out this timely “tweet” my coworker “screencapped” from “my account.” Must be opposite day!

sarahkscoular tweet

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to i love veggies

  1. Did you watch Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead? It’s pretty awesome.

    • I did! You’re right, it is awesome. I like making smoothies more than juicing to ensure I get all of the fiber from the fruit/veg. What I really want is a Vitamix but those are CRAZY expensive.

  2. Tyson says:

    The China Study has been debunked many times since being released. The data just doesn’t add up. Here is a great article that goes into further detail in case you would like to get back to some bacon/hamburger/steak eating. It’s my goal to convert vegans to meat eaters. 🙂

    http://rawfoodsos.com/2010/07/07/the-china-study-fact-or-fallac/

    Also, saturated fat doesn’t cause heart disease. It’s actually excess carbs. A great resource to get more information would be marksdailyapple.com. Worth a look even if just to get more information to support your decisions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

