revising my resolutions.

It’s about that time when people start thinking about New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve made some in the past, usually keeping them to myself so that if I failed it wouldn’t really matter. No one could hold me accountable. Also, these resolutions were so generic and vague – stop procrastinating, get healthy – there was no way to tell if I was successful.

This year I’m using a technique I learned at work to make S.M.A.R.T. goals:

Run a 5K by April 21
Eat clean at least five days per week
Hold a five-minute plank by my birthday (February 16)

Each of these goals are Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Time-sensitive. To prepare for January 1 I’ve started detoxing from my holiday sugar overload (lots and lots of vegetables) and quit my caffeine habit (again). Starting January 1 I will begin a Couch to 5K program, cross-training with yoga and a plank-a-day. I did my first plank today and only made it a paltry 48 seconds! Hey, at least it’s a start.

And now that I’ve told the world my goals I have to stick to them. What are your goals for 2013?

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to revising my resolutions.

  1. 48 seconds is not slouchy! We’ve mapped out a major detox from the holiday pig-out too. We’re kicking off a 2 day (fresh) juice fast on the 1st followed by a week of vegetarian/mostly vegan before we’ll start slowly allowing some of the other stuff back in, but slowly. For now, I’ve just been making sure I drink TONS of water everyday.

    • Thanks Megan! I’m already up to a minute and a half, I just have to keep it up. Your new year plan sounds a lot like mine, definitely need to flush all the holiday sugar out. Good luck!

  2. Cara says:

    Good idea making SMART goals! I don’t usually make New Years resolutions because they usually seem overwhelming and it’s a set up for failure. But SMART goals (made all year long) are … well … smart! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Welcome, 2013. | Wife of a Bartender

Leave a Reply

