Wasting time.

Do you ever feel like you’re just wasting time?

I do so much. I get up between 4:45 and 5 each day, do yoga with Bill, shower, get ready, wake Maddie, make a smoothie, pack my lunch, snuggle Maddie, get dressed and drive an hour to work. Work. Drive an hour home, dishes, dinner, dishes, snuggle my family, pack my lunch, wash my face and go to bed by 10.

And maintain a nine year marriage, social life and rocking body in there.

The tiny bits of time where I’m not doing all those things I just want to SLEEP. Zone out. Shut my brain off. But I have a four year old daughter that has no ‘off’ switch. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’m taking advantage of that. I do find ways to relax – twitter, facebook, pinterest – but as much as I love you guys, nothing beats the love of my family. I have to learn to shut you off. Put down my phone, the iPad, my laptop. Run around and be absolutely stupid with Maddie.

The thing is, for as put together as I may (or may not, depending what you think of me) seem, I’m a terrible procrastinator. “It’ll be ok, I can get that done tomorrow.” “On Friday.” “Next week.” Every day I get home and think, “it’s ok, you worked hard today, take a night to just relax.” Same thing the next day. “Eh, you can go do that next weekend.” And finances or events happen or the weather changes or stupid DST, there’s always an excuse.

But who knows what will happen next week. What about right now? This very moment is the only one I’m guaranteed.

Ironically, I just spent the past 45 minutes writing this on an iPad. It’s ok, I’ll start making changes tomorrow.

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

