cupcakes!

If there’s one thing I’m good at, it’s baking cupcakes. And Maddie’s birthday cupcakes were no exception. Typically I make strawberry cupcakes with mixed berry buttercream frosting, or what my husband refers to as “the best cupcakes he’s ever eaten in his entire life.” He also used some inappropriately graphic language to describe what he’d like to do to them but I’ll spare you that mental picture. This year I decided to make two varieties. I made the strawberry ones of course, but to ensure our vegan daycare provider could enjoy some too I tried a new chocolate recipe I found on Pinterest.  Even vegan skeptics said they were exceptional! I’ve had so many requests for the recipes I decided to share them here. Enjoy!

Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

I added a mashed banana to the recipe, substituted applesauce for the oil and used stevia in place of sugar. For the ganache I used lite coconut milk (be sure to use canned, not the kind in the refrigerator section) and Guittard dark chocolate chips.

Strawberry Cupcakes with Berry Buttercream Frosting

Betty Crocker’s Silver White Cake and Buttercream Frosting recipes are tried and true classics but of course I add my own spin. I made the silver white cake as instructed but swapped a mashed banana and 1/4 cup applesauce for the Crisco. Once the batter was complete I folded in a pint of diced, macerated strawberries, then filled cupcake liners 3/4 full and baked them for 18-20 minutes at 350.

Maddie always asks for purple frosting because that’s her favorite color. As I’m not a big fan of artificial coloring, I found a way to make it purplish naturally. I thawed some frozen blueberries and blackberries, about 15 each, and ran them through the food processor. Then I used a fine mesh strainer to extract the juice. I used the juice in place of most of the milk listed in the frosting recipe but everything else is the same.

I’m embarrassed to admit how many cupcakes I’ve eaten in the past 48 hours. But can you blame me?

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

