What I Eat

People often ask what I eat or even if I eat so I thought I’d start sharing my weekly meal plans. Every weekend I sit down, look through my favorite websites (Pinterest and skinnytaste.com), review my coupons and Dillon’s weekly ads, and plan lunches and dinners for the upcoming week. I’ve started using Grocery List Free (Shopping List) on the iPad; it’s super simple and easier than scratching items off a paper list. Plus I look cool using a iPad in the grocery store.

Anyway, as soon as we get home Bill and I prep all our fruit and veg (otherwise it wouldn’t get eaten before spoiling) and I cook whatever I’ve chosen for my lunches. I’m the type of person who doesn’t mind eating the same thing for lunch all week, but I do have to mix it up week to week. I either portion out lunch into Tupperware containers right away or just make a big batch and portion it out the night before. The key to eating well is being prepared; if we didn’t have healthy food ready to grab and go at a moment’s notice we’d be tempted to just grab whatever junk we could find.

For breakfast I typically blend up a protein shake (vanilla protein powder, almond milk, frozen banana, whatever fruit I have on hand) but this week I’m trying out Kimberly Snyder’s Glowing Green Smoothie. I had my first one last night and even though the texture takes some getting used to it was really tasty! I can’t get it to the consistency she does (a Vitamix blender is on my wishlist) but my Ninja does a pretty good job. I did half coconut water and half plain water and added a little flat leaf parsley for flavor.

Lunches this week will be edamame salad with orange ginger dressing. I seasoned my chicken breasts with salt and pepper then threw them in a skillet with a little olive oil. Instead of brown rice I made a cup of quinoa with a cup of water and a quarter cup of fresh squeezed orange juice. I also added a little orange zest to the dressing and mixed everything up with the quinoa. I’m keeping the avocado and chopped up chicken breast separate and will add a little to the top of the salad each morning. I also toss cut up celery, carrots, pears and/or grapefruit in my lunch bag for snacks and sides. There’s always a bag of raw almonds on my desk, ready for snacking when needed.

The Scoulars love mexican food so I generally make a mexican style meal once a week. This week will be cheese quesadillas with southwestern black bean salad. The salad lasts us a few days and we can cook up some cilantro lime rice for leftovers. I serve it all with whole wheat tortillas. Might even make some baked tortilla chips if I have spare time.

I found some delicious looking bone-in porkchops at the Merc that I’ll pan sear with salt, pepper and crushed garlic and serve it with grilled asparagus and roasted sweet potatoes. I love to mix up a tablespoon of brown sugar with a teaspoon each of salt and pepper and sprinkle it over olive oil drizzled potato chunks, then throw it in the oven at 400 for 30-40 minutes with a stir in between.

Sweet corn is amazing right now so I picked up several ears from the Merc. I’ll put a pat of butter, salt and pepper on each, wrap it in foil and toss them in the oven for 30 minutes at 350. I plan to marinate a few chicken breasts in lemon juice and give them a heavy dose of black pepper before searing them in a skillet with olive oil, and serve it with local squash, zucchini and grape tomatoes. The veggies will get a squirt of lemon juice and olive oil before roasting for a bit with some crushed garlic.

Man, I’m hungry just thinking about the upcoming week! I hope this gives you a few healthy meal ideas and if nothing else, it’s holding me accountable and forcing me to stick to my menu. Enjoy!

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

