detachment

A few months ago I talked about being lonely even though I have lots of friends. True to my word, I’ve worked on reaching out more, connecting with people in real life and focused on being present and available for those I love.

In 2011 I lost four major friendships. Nobody died, but after more than a decade of friendship our lives simply diverged. Each of these people made choices that lead them down a path different from the one I’m traveling.

It hurts. I’m a fighter, not someone who gives up easily. I’ve begged and badgered and tried to lend an ear but there comes a point when it’s obvious that’s not what the other person wants. In one case, they’re in denial. It wasn’t their actions that got them where they are, it’s always someone else’s. Pointing fingers but never taking responsibility or learning from those actions. In another, they’re scared, terrified, undeniably alone. Instead of allowing people who love them in, they’re shutting out the world and running away. And in another, they’re simply blind and deaf to the family that loves them.

I have to accept the fact that I can’t save anyone who doesn’t want to be saved. I can’t wedge myself into a space where I don’t seem to fit anymore. It doesn’t necessarily mean I won’t still be here if they need me in the future, but I have to focus my attention on those who want it now.

Related: this song has been on constant rotation in my head for weeks now.

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to detachment

  1. mandi1180 says:

    Very well said! I’m very sorry! It hurts to lose a relationship…even if it just changes, it is a loss in some way and there is a grieving process. I like to think of it as we grow and change as well, which is why we don’t “fit” right now in those relationships at the moment. Hopefully your friends’ lives and yours will “fit” back together in the future in a whole new exciting way. I am thankful and honored that our lives “fit” together right now! 😉

Leave a Reply

