lesson learned

I have avoided processed sugars since the Kansas City Slimdown Challenge began in July. Having a major sweet tooth, this was pretty difficult for me. However, as the months passed and my waistline narrowed, it became easier to avoid sugary treats. As Halloween approached, my coworkers brought in bowls of goodies but I successfully stayed away. I even bought pretzels and clementines for our trick-or-treaters just so I wouldn’t be tempted by candy in the house. But something happened on Halloween Day. My willpower broke and I had a mini Snickers shortly after arriving at work. Followed by a Kit Kat. And later a Twix. Then a few more Snickers, Twizzlers and a box of pink Nerds (my fave). By the end of the day I just wasn’t feeling right, physically or mentally. It must have shown all over my face because Bill asked, “what’s wrong with you?” when I walked in the door. I shrugged it off, blaming hunger and exhaustion. We quickly ate dinner and got Madeleine ready to trick-or-treat. Which, by the way, is super-duper fun with a three year old! We hit every house in our neighborhood and Maddie brought home a bucket full of treats. Bill swiped two of her Double Bubble just for me (I’m a sucker for gum!) and I happily chomped a piece. But then it all started going downhill. I felt woozy, light headed and downright gross. Then my dinner and all that candy decided to come back up and say hello. Multiple times. There I was, heaved over the toilet bowl as trick-or-treaters rang the doorbell. So embarrassing. I felt like a kid who didn’t listen when mom said “you’re going to make yourself sick!”

Needless to say, I went to bed early. This morning I felt a bit better but the thought/smell/sight of candy turned my stomach, making it easy to avoid the mountain of leftovers at work today. I’d like to think this is my body’s reminder that I don’t need processed junk. I was perfectly happy and clear headed without it. Not to say I won’t indulge in some quality dark chocolate or homemade baked goods occasionally. But when I do decide to indulge, I’ll definitely make it worth my while!

my pretty little princess

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to lesson learned

  1. Tyson says:

    I can resist pretty much any sort of candy with ease but the moment I indulge I lose all control and go crazy. That happened to me on Saturday night. I ended up polishing off most of my kids chocolate bars from a party they had attended. I went to bed sick and woke up feeling like I was hungover. It’s not a good feeling!

Leave a Reply

