No Excuses

At 5:00 this morning (my alarm goes off at 4:52, barf) I retweeted Seth Godin’s blog:

This article spoke to me. I catch myself making excuses all the time in all aspects of my life. I’ll read that article later. I’ll start that project after this little fire I put out. I’ll do the dishes in the morning. I always find a way to rationalize it. No matter what words I use to convince myself, those rationalizations all share the same definition: procrastination. What is it I’m always waiting for? If that task is on my mind at that exact moment, why can I not just see it through to it’s completion?

I feel I’ve been distracted. Even though I’ve been at my new job almost 2 months (6 weeks if you subtract Compass and my ACE trip to Birmingham, AL [more on that later]) my heart is still at Sunflower. DO NOT get me wrong, being a part of Team Awesome and working for an incredible, incredible company like Cerner blows my mind daily, but the people at Sunflower were my family for almost 9 years. From age 22 to 31. They saw me through a marriage, a daughter and a layoff. Last Friday the call center I previously supervised was closed down forever. Tomorrow, the call center supervisory team, Network Operations Center and members of several other departments will be without a job (thankfully some have new jobs waiting). Tomorrow marks the closing of one door and kicks my butt into the ocean lying in front of me.

I’m ready to move forward. I am grateful everyday for what I’ve accomplished but there is so much more for me to do. No excuses, to succeed any further I have to complete the tasks at hand.

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Excuses

  1. This really is incredibly sad. I too have a great new job and am working with some pretty amazing people, but I will miss the people that I had the pleasure of working with day in and day out. Some of them for almost twelve and a half years. Sunflower was supposed to be a temporary part time job while I returned to school and I ended up spending more than a decade there. This was entirely because of what I was doing and who I was working with and not what I was being paid.

    I wish everyone well. Take care.

    • So glad you’re happy at your new job Paul. Seeing everyone one last time yesterday was cathartic and I really felt closure going into that empty office. It would be difficult to find what we had anywhere else, like a spark that can’t be recreated. Our new employers are lucky to get such loyal and passionate people though!

  2. Give yourself a little break being distracted though – Sunflower was such a huge part of your life that you’re bound to feel distracted and “off” during this transition time. You’ll back into razor sharp focus before too long, have faith.

    I have a very firm rule about getting things done – anything that takes less than 3 minutes to do gets done (aka – I make my bed in the morning, I rinse and put my dirty dish in the dishwasher, I put the book back on the bookshelf, etc.). Of course, there are always time crunches to deal with, but this has helped me tremendously keeping my to-do list down. It only takes 15 minutes to tackle 5, 3 min. tasks instead of 15 min. to just do the dishes because I let them pile up.

    • Thank you Megan. I thought of you throughout the day today; accomplished a ton around the house in a relatively short amount of time by doing things as I thought of them. Now I just have to make it a habit!

Leave a Reply

