Week Four Begins

Has it been nearly a month since I posted? So sorry to have neglected you but I’ve been going through a major life change and routine adjustment. Today begins my fourth week at Cerner and I feel like I’m getting into the groove now. I’ve figured out the best route to and from work – Kasold to 23rd in the morning, Harper to 15th to Connecticut to 6th on the way home – and the sweet spots to leave and avoid major traffic – 6:25a and 4:20p. Early schedule and 90.4 miles round trip everyday but it’s working so far.

In a previous post I explained my new job title is Enterprise Community Manager for uCern. I know, you probably have that glossy eyed blank stare my friends and family give when I tell them about my new job. I get it. What does that even mean? Simply put, I’ll work with Cerner Associates and Clients* on uCern to ensure they’re connecting with relevant groups, finding answers to the questions they’re looking for, and educating about the benefits of this tool.

*As I learned during Compass (orientation), Cerner speaks it’s own language. Associates = employees, Clients = customers, Solutions = software programs. There is a ton more.

What is uCern? uCern is an internal social space where Associates and Clients can connect with people in similar roles or with similar interests to collaborate, share documentation, learn and innovate. There are Associate only spaces, Client only spaces and spaces where everyone can come together and share documents, start conversations, use the wiki and write blogs. The vast majority of the content is professional, however, there are social groups with a focus on Life Beyond Work. There are 33,000+ users and 5,600+ groups on uCern. (yep, I said ‘holy crap’ at those numbers too.)

So how did I end up at Cerner? The short answer is ‘the power of social media’. My friend, previous Social Media Manager at The World Company and current owner of social:IRL, Ben Smith, was gracious enough to help me with my job search efforts. On multiple occasions Ben used twitter to connect me with potential employers. I had several meetings with great companies who loved me, but as social business – particularly social customer service – is such a new field, these companies just weren’t sure how to utilize me.

Fast forward to the March Social Media Club of Kansas City breakfast. Ben Smith was in attendance when Luke Schnoebelen announced the uCern team at Cerner was looking for an Enterprise Community Manager. Ben immediately texted me to get in contact with @schneby on twitter. I tracked him down and sent a DM (direct message) stating I was very interested in the position. After a handful of DM exchanges I emailed Luke my resume; later that afternoon I was contacted by a recruiter to schedule a phone interview. In the span of a week I completed the phone interview, the onsite interview, received and accepted the offer.

And here we are. Not only am I excited to work in such an important industry (Healthcare IT) but for a forward-thinking company that fully understands and embraces social business. Speaking of which, tomorrow I’m attending social:IRL’s Social Business Summit with Jeremiah Owyang. Stay tuned for my (I’m sure lengthy) post about this event and follow the tweets at #socialirl.

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

