end of an era

In 16 days I will be 31.
In 116 days (or fewer) I will no longer work for the company I’ve called home for nearly 9 years.

It’s an odd place to be.

This past year beat me down like no other but because of that, I’m stronger than ever. I’ve never been more confident in myself and my abilities. I finally see the positive side to “rightsizing”. Without the manila envelope I was given I would have been happy to coast along, doing the same thing day in and day out. That manila envelope was a gift, one that opened my eyes to possibility. My job has equipped me to do anything I put my mind to. In eight and a half years I’ve gone from a 22 year old data entry temp to leading the front counter while holding the top sales position in the department and became a 30 year old Supervisor who managed hiring processes, implemented a formal recognition program, streamlined interdepartmental processes and launched a successful social media team all while coaching a team of Customer Care Advocates.

So what’s next?

That remains to be seen. Needless to say, I’m excited for what the future holds. The manila envelope was a kick in the pants, a jumpstart to motivate me. Without it, I wouldn’t make the changes I need in my life. I will find a way to do what I am passionate about and ultimately what makes ME happy.

My mantra: If you do what you have always done, you will get what you have always got.

I think it’s time to do something new.

About sarahkscoular

Sarah K. Scoular (@sarahkscoular on twitter) has 15 years customer service experience including face to face, over the phone and via digital interactions. Sarah is currently Enterprise Community Manager for uCern, the enterprise 2.0 social platform where Cerner Associates and Clients connect and collaborate. She ensures the 100,000+ member network is connecting people with others in similar roles or special interest groups, sharing information and finding answers to the questions they're looking for. Sarah helps others who are helping to revolutionize Health Care. Outside of work, Sarah is the wife of a graphic designer/laser engraver and the mother of seven-year-old Madeleine. She loves to cook clean, plant-strong foods and is a certified yoga and Les Mills BODYFLOW instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

